Preparing your toddler for a new baby

A friend was asking me today how I broke the news to Nodi that he was going to be a big brother. At the beginning I wasn’t really sure how he was going to react, I did a lot of research about it and knew it was going to be a touchy subject; especially that he was only 3 years old and might not understand.I went and ordered a few story books form Amazon about being a big brother and expecting a new baby into the family, they help him understand and got him so excited about being a big brother. The other things I did was take him with me to my doctor appointments, a lot of people thought it was a bad idea but to me it was the right thing to do, he felt involved and kept telling everyone that he heard his baby brothers heart beat inside mommy’s tummy, it was so cute!  I also took him shopping with me and had him pick out baby clothes and other things. We made sure that he got one-on-one time to do fun things together that might be hard to do when the baby arrives.

One of the best advice I got which was of course from my mom was to buy a gift for Nodi and tell him it was from his little brother and give it to him the first time they meet. I highly recommend everyone try it because it really works. It made him feel special on what was probably the most confusing day for him.

How did you help prepare your toddler from the arrival of a new baby?

2 Comments

Filed under Babies, Kids, Pregnancy

2 responses to “Preparing your toddler for a new baby

  1. When i found out that I am pregnant again I told C that she’ll going to have a younger sister/brother,I told her that finally will have a playmate..

Leave a Reply

