Baby shopping for the first time

When I was pregnant with my first son I didn’t start buying things until I was 7 months pregnant. It’s not that I wasn’t excited; I think I was just scared in cased I jinxed myself. As soon as I was 7 months pregnant and sure of the gender of our baby we went crazy! We had no clue how much was too much, everything looked so cute and adorable we just had to have it. Of course we didn’t even pause to think about the practicality of some of the clothing we were buying. After he was born we realized how much we bought that he didn’t need, nor did he ever wear  because he grow out of them so fast. A lot of the things we got were left with tags on them. They came in handy 3 years later when I had my second son lol.

A few shopping tips I learned from my first pregnancy :

  • Don’t go into any baby store without a purpose because everything looks cute, and the sales lady knows your vulnerable, eventually  you will end up leaving with things you don’t really need.
  • Make a list. I learned this the hard way. Go through check lists and talk to friends who have babies before writing a detailed list of everything that you are going to need.
  • If you get overwhelmed in shops, browse online and take your time in the comfort of your home. The best thing about shopping online is that you can create a gift registry so your friends will know what you need and buy it for you 😉
  • Think of your day-to-day life and the weather conditions in your country. I once got Nodi a sheepskin stroller cover because it was just adorable and looked so cozy. I was secretly hoping that a miracle would happen and somehow it would start snowing in Kuwait lol.

What tips do you have for expectant mommies ?

image via zimbio

Leave a comment

Filed under Babies, New Mommy, Pregnancy, Shopping

Leave a Reply

